Share on Twitter!

Porgy and Bess – The Met: Live in HD

Saturday, February 1, 2020, 12:55pm

One of America’s favorite operas takes the big screen on February 1. James Robinson’s stylish production transports audiences to Catfish Row on the Charleston waterfront, vibrant with the music, dancing, emotion, and heartbreak of its inhabitants.

“If you’re going to stage Gershwin’s opera, this is how,” raved the Guardian when the new production premiered in London in 2018. David Robertson conducts a dynamic cast, featuring the sympathetic duo of Eric Owens and Angel Blue in the title roles and an all-star ensemble that includes Golda Schultz, Latonia Moore, Denyce Graves, Frederick Ballentine, and Alfred Walker. This live cinema transmission is part of the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series, bringing opera to more than 2,200 theaters in more than 70 countries worldwide.

Location

Seelig Theatre

Admission

Adults $20; Students with valid I.D. $10

2019-2020 Season

Turandot – Saturday, October 12, 2019, 12:55pm
Manon – Saturday, October 26, 2019, 12:55pm
Madama Butterfly – Saturday, November 9, 2019, 12:55pm
Akhnaten – Saturday, November 23, 2019, 12:55pm
Wozzeck – Saturday, January 11, 2020, 12:55pm
Porgy and Bess – Saturday, February 1, 2020, 12:55pm
Agrippina – Saturday, February 29, 2020, 12:55pm
Der Fliegende Holländer – Saturday, March 14, 2020, 12:55pm
Tosca – Saturday, April 11, 2020, 12:55pm
Maria Stuarda – Saturday, May 9, 2020, 12:55pm