Share on Twitter!

Agrippina – The Met: Live in HD

Saturday, February 29, 2020, 12:55pm

Handel’s tale of intrigue and impropriety in ancient Rome arrives in cinemas on February 29, with star mezzo-soprano Joyce DiDonato as the controlling, power-hungry Agrippina and Harry Bicket conducting.

Sir David McVicar’s production ingeniously reframes the action of this black comedy about the abuse of power to “the present,” where it should loudly resonate. The all-star cast features mezzo-soprano Kate Lindsey as Agrippina’s son and future emperor Nerone, soprano Brenda Rae as the seductive Poppea, countertenor Iestyn Davies as the ambitious officer Ottone, and bass Matthew Rose as the weary emperor Claudius. This live cinema transmission is part of the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series, bringing opera to more than 2,200 theaters in more than 70 countries worldwide.

Location

Seelig Theatre

Admission

Adults $20; Students with valid I.D. $10

2019-2020 Season

Turandot – Saturday, October 12, 2019, 12:55pm
Manon – Saturday, October 26, 2019, 12:55pm
Madama Butterfly – Saturday, November 9, 2019, 12:55pm
Akhnaten – Saturday, November 23, 2019, 12:55pm
Wozzeck – Saturday, January 11, 2020, 12:55pm
Porgy and Bess – Saturday, February 1, 2020, 12:55pm
Agrippina – Saturday, February 29, 2020, 12:55pm
Der Fliegende Holländer – Saturday, March 14, 2020, 12:55pm
Tosca – Saturday, April 11, 2020, 12:55pm
Maria Stuarda – Saturday, May 9, 2020, 12:55pm